Overview of Schedule

Practical Insights into Commercial Arbitration in the Abraham Accords Economy - Zoom Webcast on June 28*

  • 1:00pm London
  • 4:00pm Dubai
  • 3:00pm Tel Aviv
  • 8:00am New York

*Previously scheduled for April 21

EVENT: Practical Insights into Commercial Arbitration in the Abraham Accords Economy

The Abraham Accords, a set of normalization agreements entered into in late 2020 by Israel, the United Arab Emirates (UAE), Bahrain, Sudan, and Morocco, are reshaping the economy of the Middle East. Commercial disputes will inevitably arise in connection with the new economic ties emerging from the Abraham Accords and are expected to overwhelmingly be resolved through international arbitration. This program will provide an introduction to the dispute-resolution issues that will define this emerging space with a focus on the characteristics of the national legal systems of the Abraham Accords nations, including the relevant arbitration laws, procedures, and institutional rules. The discussion will illuminate important characteristics of international arbitration that will be important to any lawyer expecting to advise clients or represent parties to disputes in this new environment. 

There will be a 60-minute panel discussion followed by 30 minutes of Q & A. We encourage participants to submit questions to the moderator via the Zoom chat. To ensure the smoothest facilitation, the moderator will select questions and invite the panelists to respond.  

Panelists:

Professor Maya Steinitz, University of Iowa College of Law

Professor Jakobijn van Haersolte - van Hof, London Court of International Arbitration

Thomas R. Snider, Al Tamimi & Co (Dubai)

Gary Born, WilmerHale (London)

Daniel Reisner, Herzog Fox & Neeman (Tel Aviv)

Arif Hyder Ali, Dechert LLP (Washington, DC and London)